RSS

Thoughts: I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings

25 Apr

I Know Why the Caged Bird SingsI Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Never have I read an autobiography that defied my expectations as much as I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. And so beautifully.

I imagined an explosive indictment against the segregated South during the Depression era. Instead, I discovered the simple brilliance of a child’s perspective wrestling with the circumstances of her upbringing. Of course, the violent dichotomy between white and black America shrouded Angelou’s world and this story reflected her conceptions of that world. Whatever impressions the reader owns after reading I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings belong to them, free of any “preachy” influence from Angelou. The reader simply finds themselves wrestling with her experiences as she did.

She narrates a tale of growing up. Nothing more. The racial sentiments play a crucial role in her story similarly as any other circumstance would play a role in others’ stories. She talks about enlightening mentors, innocent friendships, religion, paternal iniquities, maternal strength and brotherly devotion. Yet the segregated South and American distaste for Black permeates all of these things. And Angelou’s brilliant prose style, in which she employs all the right words rather than the pretty ones, reflects the simple and innocent perspective of a growing girl. Angelou restrains from talking about her childhood from her mature perspective but lets her young mind lead the story. She naturally reacts to her life’s circumstances as anyone else would.

For those people in modern America who feel race is a card, something for which they should not feel responsible and cringe at as if Death itself hovered over their beds, how can one deny the feelings of a child? How can one see her natural reactions and think stereotype has justifiable reasons? Understanding the plight of another does not inherently convict someone of guilt or self-deprecation. For me, I hear this story and feel that my own character would have crumbled at the prospect of this childhood. I admire her for her strength, not her race. I understand my own integrity as inferior to hers but not because of race or guilt.

Just as me.

View all my reviews

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Maya Angelou

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Thoughts: I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings

  1. Heather

    April 25, 2013 at 11:26 am

    This is one of my all-time favorite books. I love the whole series of them, actually. She has a new one out, too, that goes into detail about her relationship with her mother: Me & Mom & Me. I haven’t had a chance to read it, yet, but I’m really looking forward to it.

     
  2. Kristel Marie Pujanes

    April 26, 2013 at 8:55 am

    Also one of my favorite books! And I agree, it does defy expectations. I got the book for less than a buck at a secondhand bookstore. Who knew it would be one of my most re-read books? Beautiful book, beautiful review.

     

Leave a Reply

 
The Life and Adventures of a Bibliophile

A Love of Language Put Into Words

Lipsyy Lost & Found

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Exploring Literature

Exploring Literature From Around The World

The Five-Eyed Bookworm

Eclectic Reader. Lover of beautiful book covers.

Redline: Live to Drive!

To share my passion of motorsports to all my readers! To get people of all ages and income levels into the absolute best vehicle possible for their specific needs and to make driving enjoyable every single day!

Consumed by Ink

A word after a word after a word is power. --Margaret Atwood

The Blerd Book Club

Many minds wrapped around a good book.

BLURBNSTUFF

BLURBS ABOUT BOOKS

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Hesperus Press

Independent publishers of both contemporary and classic, neglected and translated books.

Nishita's Rants and Raves

about books, movies, restaurants, and anything else under the sun...

This Is Where The Magic Happens

Literature & Other Loves

Tasseled Book Blog

I read, therefore I am

Stories by Mercilo Daviss

Worlds and moments in just a few words. Have a look around and stay awhile.

pulitzerschmulitzer

My project to read the Pulitzer winners for fiction

The View From Sari's World

Where History & Literature Meet

Stuck in the South

If your into books, movies, celebrity gossip, and love hearing about it from a college senior stuck in MS then this is the blog for you!

