RSS

Thoughts: Tender Is The Night

25 Apr

Tender Is the NightTender Is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This was an arduous read for me. Frankly, I think Fitzgerald should take a dive from the top of the Show-Don’t-Tell tree and try and hit every branch on the way down. I will credit him with keen character insights but I always appreciate forming those ideas and thoughts on my own. I like meeting characters, not being told about them. And poetic prose isn’t oftentimes dictated with a Thesaurus at one’s side.

Having said that, the people in this book are intriguing, but I don’t find them to be people we haven’t heard about before. Of course, the scene is different; the generation of those damn kids living lavish lifestyles and who will inevitably talk about the damn kids of the next generation. I won’t criticize Fitzgerald, as he has been, of melodramatically sympathizing with frivolous Jazz-Agers. But we have seen these people before.

Admittedly, I was struck by the gender issues present in Tender. In brief summation, the theme is best articulated through the idea of acting. Rosemary, I primary character insofar as her effect on the main couple, is an actress and several others are mentioned. Dick and Nicole both act, or perhaps more accurately put, don masks for different reasons. Nicole wants to be well, which of course begs the question of if she was ill to begin with, and Dick wants to help. What happens is the doctor plays husband and the patient plays a woman of society. I will say that I found the transition in Book 3 odd and somewhat disconcerting. I had read through the book feeling sympathy for Nicole but as it progressed, and she was being described, stylistically of course, as being a lovesick woman acting as a patient, I began resisting her. And Dick, originally the doctor playing husband, which we know is a horrible, ill-fated role, becomes a cramped, broken man playing husband. In any case, it resolves with both of them getting what they want. Or maybe what they thought they wanted.

Perhaps a more careful reading and analysis will illuminate the quality of the change in these characters but, nevertheless, Fitzgerald’s style has turned me off from caring too much one way or the other. He should stick to short stories.

View all my reviews

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in F. Scott Fitzgerald

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Life and Adventures of a Bibliophile

A Love of Language Put Into Words

Lipsyy Lost & Found

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Exploring Literature

Exploring Literature From Around The World

The Five-Eyed Bookworm

Eclectic Reader. Lover of beautiful book covers.

Redline: Live to Drive!

To share my passion of motorsports to all my readers! To get people of all ages and income levels into the absolute best vehicle possible for their specific needs and to make driving enjoyable every single day!

Consumed by Ink

A word after a word after a word is power. --Margaret Atwood

The Blerd Book Club

Many minds wrapped around a good book.

BLURBNSTUFF

BLURBS ABOUT BOOKS

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Hesperus Press

Independent publishers of both contemporary and classic, neglected and translated books.

Nishita's Rants and Raves

about books, movies, restaurants, and anything else under the sun...

This Is Where The Magic Happens

Literature & Other Loves

Tasseled Book Blog

I read, therefore I am

Stories by Mercilo Daviss

Worlds and moments in just a few words. Have a look around and stay awhile.

pulitzerschmulitzer

My project to read the Pulitzer winners for fiction

The View From Sari's World

Where History & Literature Meet

Stuck in the South

If your into books, movies, celebrity gossip, and love hearing about it from a college senior stuck in MS then this is the blog for you!

